Akeredolu In Early Lead With Over 62,000 Votes

Rotimi Akeredolu

Rotimi Akeredolu, the Ondo State Governor who is also the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, has won in eight of the 10 local governments so far announced.

According to The PUNCH, the results were announced by the Local Government collation officers at the Independent National Electoral Commission’s collation centre in Akure.

While the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, won two, the Deputy Governor and Zenith Labour Party candidate, Agboola Ajayi, has not won any.

Akeredolu has so far garnered 152,248 votes.

Jegede is trailing with 89,453 votes.

Ajayi is in a distant third with 27,820 votes.

A breakdown of the figures shows that the APC candidate is leading with 62,795 votes.

The PUNCH reports that 17 political parties are participating in the governorship election held in 18 local governments.

Source link