INEC Converts 1,015 Voting Points To Polling Units In Kwara

 The Independent Nation­al Electoral Commission (INEC) has said that it has converted 1,015 voting points to polling units in Kwara State.

Malam Garba Attahi­ru-Madami, the state’s Resident Electoral Com­missioner (REC), disclosed this in Ilorin on Saturday during a stakeholders’ meeting on ‘Expansion of voter access to polling units in Kwara’.

He added that access to polling units was very essential to increase num­bers of voters during elec­tions.

A t t a h i r u-Madami lamented that Nigeria had never recorded over 35 per cent of voters during elec­tions, whereas Ghana had recorded over 50 per cent of voters.

The REC said with the conversion of the 1,015 vot­ing points, Kwara now had 2,887 polling units.

According to him, be­fore the enumeration of the Registration Areas, there were 1,872 polling units in all the 16 local gov­ernment areas of the state.

Attahiru-Madami said the 119,973 polling units in the country were created in 1996 to take care of 50 million voters.

According to him, INEC registered over 84 million voters for 2019 general elections, noting that the 119,973 polling units were grossly inadequate.

He opined that many eli­gible voters refused to vote on election day because of the distance of polling unit to their residences, resulting in apathy.

The REC added that con­verting voting points to polling units would reduce overcrowding of voters during election and also bring polling units closer to the people.

He noted that polling units could only be located in appropriate public plac­es like town halls, commu­nity halls, health centres, court premises and open spaces.

Attahiru-Madami add­ed that polling units could not be sited at private homes, religious places, politicians’ residences, royal fathers’ homes and places of dispute.

He said that INEC would continue to address the issue of polling units after the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) as the commission was targeting 120 million voters for 2023 elections.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the breakdown of the 2,887 polling units had Asa Lo­cal Government Area with 145 polling units, Baruten 230, Edu 175, Ekiti 76 and Ifelodun 236.

Read the Source post on Independent Newspapers Nigeria.